Transportation

school_bus

Mission

 

The mission of the West Middlesex Transportation Department is to provide the safest and most reliable transportation to our students through excellence in safety training, regular inspections, and regular maintenance of equipment. 

Please contact Mr. Bronson with questions or concerns including bus incidents, lost items, routes/schedules/stop locations etc.

Student Conduct/Expectations

 

  • Obey the bus driver at all times.
  • No food or drink allowed.
  • Be in your seat whenever the door is closed.
  • No fighting. Keep hands, feet, books, and objects to yourself.
  • Talk in normal tones; loud, rude, vulgar, or obscene language is prohibited.
  • Do not throw anything off the bus or have any part of you outside the bus.
  • Students are not allowed to possess tobacco on school property.
  • Do not bring anything alive or dangerous (i.e. glass containers, sharp objects, animals.)
  • No cell phone usage, including text messaging, taking pictures, or movies.
  • No weapons, including laser pens. 


Infractions of the above rules will result in disciplinary action, which may include suspension of bus privileges.

FAQs

Q: Where is the lost and found for the buses?

A: Lost/found items will be placed in the appropriate building office.


Q: If I have a complaint who do I talk to?

A: Contact Mr. Bronson at (724)634-3030 x2068


Q: Can my student take his/her skateboard, scooter, or rollerblades on the bus?

A: No


Q: What do I do if my student didn't get off at their stop?

A: Please call the building office or Mr. Bronson at (724)634-3030 x2068


Q: Why wouldn't the driver let my student off at a stop other than his own?

A: The student must have an approved/written request to be let off other than his/her own stop.

Become a WMASD Bus Driver

  • You must be at least 18 years of age or older.
  • You must obtain a School Bus Driver's Physical Examination Form (DL-704) from your prospective employer.
  • Upon passing the physical examination, you will need to submit Form DL-704, Form DL-31CD "Application for Commercial Learner's Permit" and the appropriate fee to PennDOT.
  • You will be required to pass a vision screening and Knowledge Tests, including but not limited to the Commercial General Knowledge, Passenger Endorsement, School Bus Endorsement, and Air Brakes, if applicable.
  • You will be required to complete a minimum of 20 hours of school bus specific instruction, which includes at least 14 hours of classroom training and at least 6 hours of in-bus training.
  • You will be required to pass a Road Test consisting of a pre-trip inspection, performance of basic maneuvers and an on-road driving test. You will also be required to execute a simulated student discharge and a simulated or actual railroad crossing.

Please note that Pennsylvania law requires you to pass both a criminal history check conducted by the Pennsylvania State Police and a child abuse history check conducted by the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare.

What do I need to do to maintain my school bus endorsement in PA?

Every four years, a school bus driver must:

  1. Complete a minimum of 10 hours of refresher training, which includes at least 7 hours of classroom training and at least 3 hours of in-bus training.
  2. Pass the School Bus Knowledge Test.
  3. Pass a Road Test in a school bus.

Reference: www.dmv.pa.gov